Misrepresentation of Age by a Minor

When it is popular enough to make a hit movie premised upon the idea of high school senior becoming McLovin’ a 23 year old organ donor from Hawaii, it happens frequently enough for it to be outlawed in the State of Texas. Whether you presented a fake I.D. or told the cashier at the local grocery store a wrong birthday, Section 106.07 of the Alcoholic Beverage Code encompasses both “falsely stating” that you are 21 years of age or older and “presenting any document that indicates” that you are 21 years of age or older.

A minor charged with presenting a fake I.D. should be cautious. As with many types of illegal conduct, there are a variety of statutes which can criminalize the same act. A minor who has presented a fake I.D. could be overcharged or mischarged under Section 521.451 of the Texas Transportation Code which makes the use of a falsified driver’s licenses a Class A Misdemeanor. If this has happened to you, criminal representation is even more important.

Potential punishment ranges for Misrepresentation of Age by a Minor can be found HERE

*Kyle Therrian is an attorney licensed to practice in the State of Texas. Nothing in this article is intended to be legal advice. For legal advice on any case you should contact an attorney directly.

Speak Your Mind